RSS

Internet in Jordan Sucks

17 Aug

Decisions, decisions. In 2 weeks I’ll have to make a choice, either I renew my current internet subscription or switch to a faster plan with the same company for a slightly higher price.

Let me start by saying that internet in Jordan sucks. The 3 major companies, Orange, Zain and Umniah don’t even know how to compete with each other. Each one of them has an even suckier monthly download limit than the other..Orange is the worst at 5gb a month…yeah exactly, I use up 5gb a week! Umniah is the best out of the 3, I’ve been with them for 3 years, yes their customer service kinda sucks and yes their monthly download limit is only 10gb but at least you can download for free between 12am and 7am daily and all day Friday, So I don’t really use up more than 5gb unless I purposely download during the daytime.

I got a call from them about 2 months ago with what I thought at the time was a pretty cool offer, they asked me if I was interesting in doubling my download speed and switching to wireless internet instead of ADSL for an extra 40JD’s a year, and to top that off they said that I’ll have “unlimited” download for the whole year, this is what the dude on the phone said after I asked him for how long was the “unlimited” offer. I was like WOW..hell yeah sign me up for it! Of course their idea of “unlimited” is 35 gigabytes a month which is about what I need anyway. At the time I still had 2 months to renew so the dude said no probs and that they’d call me back when it was time to renew. Boy am I glad that I didn’t have to sign up for that offer right away.

Last month they called me again with the same offer, a different dude..and being the smart person that I am who doesn’t trust Arabs asked again about the cost, download limit etc…this time he told me that the “unlimited download” offer was until September (that’s when my new subscription supposedly starts), then they’d enforce the 10gb limit, and wait for it…without the free hours from midnight to 7am and no free Fridays either.

I told the dude that the month before the other dude said that the offer was for the whole year, so the new dude started to beat around the bush and said that in September they’ll have a new offer. I told him I’d think about it, but I’d already made up my mind..no friggn’ way am I gonna trust you guys.

Same dude called again last week and it was basically the same offer as last month but now you get a free router and you get to choose either a USB wireless internet device or 3 free months. Once again I said that I’d think about it but I don’t think I’ll be taking them up on that offer.

When they started beating around the bush about their “unlimited” download offer I lost interest. You see It’s the Arab way, and when Arabs start to do that you KNOW that as soon as they have your money then tough luck you gotta live with whatever they end up giving you..there’s no such thing as a refund, and they don’t really care if you’re a happy customer or not.

I download A LOT of shows and every year I seem to add several more to my list, for every show that gets canceled and has me thinking, yay 1 less show to download, I end up finding 3 new ones that I like.

I’ve basically made up my mind to stay put with my current lousy speed of 512mb, instead of doubling it and running out of bandwidth before the 10th of every month.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2011 in Random Blah

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Internet in Jordan Sucks

  1. I hate Jordanian Internet

    August 14, 2012 at 16:35

    Best thing to do is to probably buy multiple GSM cards (SIM cards) for 2.5JDs each, and switch them out when the limit is reached. I just think that it’s ridiculous for there to be a limit for downloading. I live in the US where I honestly download about 20-30GB a week at about 2.5-3.5MB/s at $30 a month. I just can’t believe that these greedy f@โ‚ฌ|<s operate this way. On top of that I have already paid for my data, and they still limit my access. That's like saying I bought and payed for 10 gallons of water, but since I've drank too much already, I can only have half a cup day.

    Like

     
    • aussieforgood

      August 14, 2012 at 16:47

      This is why I’m refusing to go wireless or with any of that crap, good old ADSL all the way.

      I tried 3G with Umniah, also part of their EVO program and decided not to renew for another month. At first it was nice and fast, I had 1GB which I didn’t use up, after a few weeks, it stopped working in my apartment/area, and would only work when I was out of the area I live in. What really pissed me off was that when the month ended, they disconnected me without warning or asking if I wanted to sign up for another month, and then the 2.5JD I had in my account just disappeared in less than 2 days. Turns out my phone was using data without me realizing that the month was over and they were charging me per KB. I mean at least send an SMS warning your customers that their subscription is almost up or is up!

      Like

       
  2. I hate Jordanian Internet

    August 14, 2012 at 16:23

    Now here’s the deal with Umniah’s EVO program. I get awesome download speeds (between 850KB-950KB), but that’s pretty much it. The first night I got it, I downloaded about 2GB worth of stuff and then went to bed. I wake up the next day only to find that the 10JD’s that I charged my account with is gone. The advertised 10GB for 10JDs. I figured maybe because I left my location services on, that may have used up 8GB (which I’m pretty sure is impossible, but whatever). The next day, I fill my account up with another 10JDs, and turned my location services off. This time I downloaded about 1.5GB, and went to bed. Surprise, surprise. Account empty again. Now I’m pissed off. I call Umniah, but, of course, the English customer service representative does not speak English. So after an hour of trying to explain my situation, and him arguing with me, telling me I’m wrong (I’m an electronics engineer by the way), I give up and give in. I go buy another 10 JD card. This time, I download about 5GB, and everything seemed fine. Then after 2 days and 32JDs total spent, they cut me off. My max download speed is 10KBps. So all I really have to say is F#โ‚ฌ|< YOU UMNIAH, and you too Jordanian government for letting this company steal from your people.

    Like

     
  3. Mohannad

    March 14, 2012 at 21:57

    Dude your right, I’m from Jordan and I find that all the Internet providers here suck. I have subscribed to a company called Wi-Tribe and they’re the same as the others. Shitty download limits and if you want to add more you gotta pay 10JD’s for every month in the year which is 120JD’s a year for every gigabyte. Looks like we’ll be under the mercy of these assholes for a long damn time.

    Like

     
    • aussieforgood

      March 14, 2012 at 22:19

      Yes, they’re all the same and the worst part is there is no competition between them. I spend the whole month calculating how many GB’s I’ve used a week so that I don’t have to buy more.

      Like

       
  4. Aseel

    August 17, 2011 at 12:31

    tell me about it! all three suck and seriously it’s like you said and the competition between the three isnt that strong at all.. bet5awato 3alena ya3ne. I’m still sticking to my decision of not having internet at home until something better comes a long or at least an honest company comes forward.. I’ll just use the neighbors wireless connection LOL!

    Like

     
    • aussieforgood

      August 17, 2011 at 13:34

      LOL…yep keep stealing internet from your neighbors ๐Ÿ˜› I wish I could do that and not have internet at home but I’m too addicted ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       

Speak Now Or Forever Hold Your Peace

 
